SA v PAK 2021: Hasan Ali clears two COVID-19 tests; to join Pakistan training camp in Lahore

Pakistan squads' final COVID-19 tests will be conducted on 24 March.

Hasan Ali had tested COVID-19 positive a day before the PSL 2021 postponed | Getty Images

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday (March 22) confirmed that the pacer Hasan Ali, who had tested positive for COVID-19 last week, has now returned two negative tests for the deadly virus in the latest tests on the South Africa-bound Pakistan cricket squad on March 21 (Sunday).

He will join the Pakistan training camp from Tuesday ahead of their tours of South Africa and Zimbabwe.

The PCB stated that “he will now enter the bio-secure bubble on Tuesday (March 23) where he will remain in isolation for 24 hours, following which he will undergo two further tests on 24 March.”

Read Also: Pakistan cricket fraternity wishes speedy recovery to PM Imran Khan after he tests positive for COVID-19

In an official press release, the PCB further said, “If the results of both the tests are negative, then he will be allowed to integrate with the side and cleared to travel to Johannesburg on 26 March.

Notably, Hasan had tested positive in the initial tests after attending a small get-together at which Islamabad United players were present, including Australian leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed.

Meanwhile, the PCB also revealed that all the remaining 34 members of Pakistan’s squad for upcoming South Africa, who are presently attending a training camp in Lahore, have cleared their third round of the COVID-19 testing conducted on 21 March.

The final tests will be conducted on 24 March as the 35-member Pakistan squad is all set to depart for Johannesburg on March 26 for the three ODIs and four T20Is against South Africa starting April 2.

Following the limited-overs series in South Africa, the Pakistan team will fly to Bulawayo on April 17 for three T20Is and two Tests against Zimbabwe next month.

Here are Pakistan squads for South Africa and Zimbabwe tour –

ODI squad: Babar Azam (c), Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Haider Ali, Danish Aziz, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Usman Qadir, Hasan Ali.

T20I squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Danish Aziz, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Usman Qadir, Hasan Ali, Arshad Iqbal

Test squad: Babar Azam (c), Imran Butt, Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Saud Shakeel, Agha Salman, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Tabish Khan, Hasan Ali, Shahnawaz Dhani, Nauman Ali, Zahid Mahmood, Sajid Khan

(With PCB/PTI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 23 Mar, 2021

    Share Via