NZ v PAK 2020-21: Southee and Seifert help New Zealand to 9-wicket win over Pakistan, leads T20I series 2-0

New Zealand has won the T20I series, with one match to go.

Mohammad Hafeez made 99* | GettyThe second T20I of the three-match series between New Zealand and Pakistan was played at Seddon Park, Hamilton. Pakistan captain Shadab Khan won the toss and chose to bat first. This was a must-win match for the visitors having lost the first T20I.

However, Tim Southee ran through the top order of Pakistan with Mohammad Rizwan (22), Haider Ali (8), and Abdullah Shafique (0) falling to him in quick succession. The entire Pakistani innings revolved around experienced Mohammad Hafeez’s 99* in 57 balls with 10 fours and 5 sixes.

NZ v PAK 2020-21: Mitchell Santner says New Zealand preparing for T20 World Cup in India

Pakistan finished on 163/6 in 20 overs. Tim Southee picked 4/21, while Jimmy Neesham and Ish Sodhi picked a wicket each.

Tim Southee got the Man of the Match for his 4/21 | GettyMartin Guptill fell for 21 runs to Faheem Ashraf as New Zealand started their chase on a good note. But that was the only wicket Pakistan managed, as Tim Seifert and captain Kane Williamson ensured no more casualties happened.

Seifert remained unbeaten on 84* in 63 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes, while Williamson made 57* in 42 balls with 8 fours and 1 six and the duo added 129 unbeaten runs for the second wicket. The Kiwis won by 9 wickets with 4 balls to go and went 2-0 up in the three-match T20I series.

Tim Southee was named Man of the Match for his 4-wicket haul.


PAK 163/6 (M HAFEEZ 99*; T SOUTHEE 4/21) lost to NZ 164/1 (T SEIFERT 84*, K WILLIAMSON 57*) by 9 wickets.
New Zealand leads the 3-match T20I series 2-0.


By Jatin Sharma - 20 Dec, 2020

    Share Via