Rajeev Shukla elected as BCCI Vice-President ahead of the board’s AGM on December 24

Brijesh Patel and M. Khairul Jamal Majumdar will continue as councillors.

Rajeev Shukla | TwitterRajeev Shukla's application for the position of BCCI vice-president has been declared valid along with those of Brijesh Patel and M. Khairul Jamal Majumdar, who would continue as councillors, IANS reported on Friday (December 18).

Election for only three vacant posts was slated to be held during the AGM for BCCI on December 24. However, now that there would be no contest as all of them been effectively elected, a formal announcement will be made by Achal Kumar Joti, Electoral Officer of the BCCI.

The post of vice-president was vacant after Mahim Verma stepped down and returned to his home state, Uttarakhand where he was elected as secretary of the state's association once again. On the other hand, the tenure of the two councillors was one year and election was due for these positions.

According to the timeline announced by Achal Kumar Joti, a formal announcement of a list of contesting candidates would be made on Saturday (December 19).

Shukla, also a former secretary of the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA), was ineligible from voting at the BCCI AGM last year after the then Electoral Officer found him to have not completed his three-year cooling-off period. He was, however, never required to vote at the AGM as all office-bearers were elected unopposed after four groups within the BCCI joined hands to avoid contests, and see off the rule of the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators.

Rohan Jaitley, who was elected president of the DDCA last month, proposed the name of Shukla, a Director in UPCA, and Verma, secretary of the Cricket Association of Uttarakhand (CAU), endorsed it.

On the other hand, Brijesh Patel’s name was proposed by RS Ramasaamy, secretary of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association, and seconded by Adv. Shreejith V. Nair, secretary of the Kerala Cricket Association while

Avishek Dalmiya, president of the Cricket Association of Bengal, proposed the name of Majumdar and Sanjay M. Naik of the Mumbai Cricket Association seconded it.

(Inputs from IANS)


By Salman Anjum - 19 Dec, 2020

    Share Via