LPL 2020: Shahid Afridi to captain Galle Gladiators in Lanka Premier League 2020

Shahid Afridi recently played in the Pakistan Super League.

Shahid Afridi | Getty

The inaugural edition of the Lankan Premier League (LPL) is set to be underway from November 26 at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

The Galle Gladiators will be one of the five teams participating in the T20 tournament. The Gladiators management has decided to name their most experienced cricketer and former Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi as their captain for the first season.

LPL 2020: Dale Steyn joins Kandy Tuskers for Lanka Premier League 2020

The official Twitter handle of the Galle Gladiators team announced the decision and also revealed that the Sri Lankan batsman Bhanuka Rajapaksa has been appointed as the vice-captain of the Gladiators.

The tweet read, "#GalleGladiators name superstar @SAfridiOfficial as captain, #BhanukaRajapaksa as vice-captain We’re ready for #HoldingTheFort #LPL2020"

Veteran cricketer Shahid Afridi participated in the recently concluded Pakistan Super League representing the Multan Sultans. He scored 99 runs and picked 7 wickets in the 9 games that he played. He will now lead the Galle Gladiators to what might be their first-ever successful season.

Colombo Kings, Kandy Tuskers, Jaffna Stallions, and Dambulla Viiking are the other four teams that will participate in LPL 2020 with the first two teams setting the tournament off in the opener.

A total of 23 matches will be played in the competition at the same venue in Hambantota with the Final being scheduled for December 16.


By Sameer Deodhar - 22 Nov, 2020

    Share Via