NZ v WI 2020: West Indies players and support staff clear second COVID-19 Test in New Zealand

The tour will begin with 1st T20I in Auckland on 27th November.

West Indies team started training in New Zealand | CWI Twitter

West Indies cricket team on Friday (November 6) have been tested negative for the COVID-19 in the second round of the testing and will undergo the final test next week before taking on hosts New Zealand in the first T20I of the three-match series starting on 27 November in Auckland.

All the Windies touring party including players and support staff on Friday cleared the second of their three Covid-19 tests in New Zealand where they arrived last week and are currently undergoing two-week quarantine at the NZC's High-Performance Centre at Lincoln University, Christchurch.

New Zealand Cricket announced the latest development via Twitter in a statement on Friday and said if all the members of the West Indies team clear the final Test next week, then they can leave the isolation set-up in Christchurch.

Read Also: NZ v WI 2020: New Zealand battling injury concerns ahead of West Indies series

The statement reads: All members of the @windiescricket touring party, have returned negative results from the second of three COVID-19 tests, this one conducted on Day 6. All members of the touring party will be tested again on Day 12 and, if clear, will leave managed isolation two days later #NZvWI”

Meanwhile, the Caribbean team is in New Zealand to play 3 T20Is and two-match Test series with the tour opening with the first T20I on 27 November followed by the second and third T20I in Mount Maunganui on 29 and 30 November respectively.

The first Test of the series will be held in Hamilton from 3-7 December and followed by the second and final in Wellington from 11-15 December.

Noteworthy, 7 West Indies players, including T20I skipper Kieron Pollard, Test captain Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, and Oshane Thomas, are currently in UAE for the IPL 2020 and will leave for New Zealand after the T20 league concludes on 10 November.

(With PTI inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 07 Nov, 2020

    Share Via