Blessing Muzarabani returns as Zimbabwe confirm squad for Pakistan tour 

The young quick had signed a Kolpak deal in UK but has now returned to the national side.

Blessing Muzarabani | GettyYoung pacer Blessing Muzarabani's return to international cricket was confirmed on Saturday (October 10) as Zimbabwe announced a 20-man squad for the limited-overs tour of Pakistan, starting later this month. 

Muzarabani signed a Kolpak deal in 2018 with Northamptonshire but the tall speedster has now returned to the national side after being released from the club contract.

Read Also - "Zimbabwe, a relatively weak opposition; good time for us to try youngsters": Waqar Younis 

Making his debut back in 2017, the 24-year-old has played one Test, 18 ODIs and six T20Is for his country. 

His comeback will boost the morale of the side ahead of the difficult series against the Asian rivals, especially as the Zimbabweans miss the services of their experienced quick Kyle Jarvis. Jarvis has been ruled out with a stress fracture. 

Left-hand batsman Milton Shumba and paceman Faraz Akram are the new faces in the squad. The two players are yet to make their international debut. 

The Pakistan series will also be Chamu Chibhabha's first international assignment as full-time captain of Zimbabwe. During the team's last series in Bangladesh earlier this year before the extended COVID-19 break, Chibhabha made his captaincy debut, with the then first-choice skipper Sean Williams sitting out. Chibhabha has now been given the responsibility full-time. 

The ODIs, part of the ICC Super League, will be played on October 30, November 1 and 3 in Multan before the focus shifts to the T20Is in Rawalpindi on November 7, 8 and 10, respectively. 

Zimbabwe Squad: Chamu Chibhabha (c), Faraz Akram, Ryan Burl, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Wessly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Carl Mumba, Richmond Mutumbami, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Sean Williams

(Inputs from ICC)


By Kashish Chadha - 11 Oct, 2020

    Share Via