‘No point poking the bear’, Warner won’t like to sledge Kohli during India’s tour of Australia

India will play four Tests, three ODIs and three T20Is in their tour of Australia.

Warner and Smith were serving ball-tampering bans when India toured Australia in 2018-19 | AFPThere is a buzz and anticipation surrounding around India’s tour of Australia, slated to be held later this year. In particular, cricket fans are eagerly waiting to see the clash between two top teams in four Tests.

See Also: Steve Smith excited for India's tour of Australia; says series will be 'incredibly special'

Moreover, the fans are keen to witness the showdown between two of world’s best batsmen – Virat Kohli and Steve Smith. While the Indian captain is currently ranked at the second spot in ICC Test rankings for batsmen, the Australian star holds the top position.

Australia opener David Warner is also looking forward to the upcoming series and the contest between Kohli and Smith.

"Virat Kohli and Steve Smith are the best across formats and it will be an interesting contest between them," Warner was quoted as saying by India Today.

Keeping in mind the impact of COVID-19 pandemic, the series is expected to be played behind closed doors and Warner said it would be a surreal feeling to not play in front of empty stands.

"It would be very surreal playing against India without the crowd. I want to be selected and be part of that series. Last time we were not bad but we were beaten by a good team and their bowling was relentless. Now, India has got the best batting line up and our bowlers will like to target and the Indian crowd will be eager to see that."

The southpaw also said he would not like to sledge Kohli during the series as the Indian skipper is not the right person to be provoked.

"Virat Kohli is not a person to be poked and no point poking the bear."

India's tour of Australia will kick-start with a T20I affair on October 11 in Brisbane. The other two T20Is will be played on October 14 (Canberra) and October 17 (Adelaide).

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy will begin on December 3 at Gabba. India are then scheduled to play a pink-ball Test from December 11 to 15 in Adelaide while the third and fourth Tests will be held in Melbourne (December 26-30) and Sydney (January 3-7) respectively.

The ODI series is slated to start on January 12 in Perth, followed by matches on January 15 (Melbourne) and January (Sydney) 17.


By Salman Anjum - 21 Jun, 2020

    Share Via