Tillakaratne Dilshan names all-time XI; no Englishmen, only one Indian chosen

Dilshan chose from players who he played with or against during his playing days.

Tillakaratne Dilshan's last appearance in ODI cricket | GETTY

Retired Sri Lanka batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan came up with the best XI player he played with or against in ODI to form a team. The star-studded team saw only one player from India and Pakistan each.

Dilshan named Sachin Tendulkar as an opening partner of Sanath Jayasuriya. The two greats have opened for Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League (IPL) during the initial seasons of the tournament.

ALSO READ: "Traditionalist" Tillakaratne Dilshan welcomes Sourav Ganguly's move of Day-Night Test

West Indies legend Brian Lara got the number three spot with Mahela Jayawardene at four. Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting was adjusted at number five.

“He (Jayasuriya)’s one of the greatest openers for Sri Lanka. In 1996, I think he was one of the best-attacking batsmen in the world. Compared to Sanath, Sachin was more stylish. He knew how to set up the game. He’s one of the most experienced guys in the XI and has the most runs to his name in international cricket,” Dilshan told ESPN Cricinfo.

The all-rounder position went to South Africa's Jacques Kallis, one of all-time great in his department. “He (Kallis) is an easy pick because he was the best allrounder in the world. He can take the new ball, he can bowl in the middle overs and in the death. He was also one of the best batsmen I’ve seen, in all three formats.”

Although Dilshan played till 2016, AB de Villiers is the only cricketer from the modern era to find a spot in the XI. 

The bowling department has two quality pacers and spinners each. Pakistan pacer Wasim Akram has a company of West Indies' Courtney Walsh. Legendary spinner Shane Warne and Muttiah Muralidharan were an obvious choice for Dilshan.

Dilshan’s ODI XI: 
Sanath Jayasuriya, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Mahela Jayawardene, Ricky Ponting, Jacques Kallis, AB De Villiers, Wasim Akram, Courtney Walsh, Muttiah Muralidharan, Shane Warne. (Glenn McGrath as 12th man)


By - 10 May, 2020

    Share Via