Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara to kickstart the Road Safety Series on March 7

Teams of as many as 5 countries will be participating in the tournament.

(L-R) Dilshan, Lee, Lara and Tendulkar at a series event | Getty

Sachin Tendulkar’s India Legends will face Brian Lara’s West Indies Legends in the opening encounter of the Road Safety Series on March 7.

The Unacademy Road Safety Series will feature five teams of former legends of India, West Indies, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and Australia. The first two will be led by Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara and will kick start the tournament on March 7 at the Wankhede Stadium.

There will be a total of 11 matches over 16 days and at 4 different venues in Mumbai, Navi Mumbai, and Pune. The T20 tournament will have two games at the Wankhede Stadium, four games at the DY Patil Stadium, four at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune and the Final will be played at the Brabourne Stadium.

Legends like Tendulkar, Lara, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Brett Lee, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Yuvraj Singh, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Brad Hodge, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, and Ajantha Mendis will be in action during the tournament.

The India Legends led by Sachin Tendulkar will be playing a game at Wankhede, two in Pune and one at the DY Patil Stadium. Former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar is the commissioner of the tournament.

(With inputs from PTI)


By Sameer Deodhar - 13 Feb, 2020

    Share Via