Global T20 Canada League’s second edition to begin from last week of July

Vancouver Knights emerge as champions in inaugural edition.

Vancouver Knights won the first edition of the tournament The Global T20 Canada League was launched in 2018 with many stars of world cricket including the likes of Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Steve Smith, David Warner and others featuring in the six teams and the inaugural title was won by Vancouver Knights led by Gayle.

The first edition of the tournament was played from 28 June to 15 July 2018 and the matches were played in a round robin format at the Maple Leaf North-West Ground in King City, Ontario, Canada. Now in good news for the fans of cricket in North America, the second edition of the tournament is slated to begin in late July this year.

Many of the marquee players who participated in the inaugural tournament are expected to return including the names like Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Chris Lynn, Lasith Malinga, and David Miller. The six franchises who fought hard last year were comprised of Cricket West Indian B Team, Edmonton Royals, Montreal Tigers, Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights and Winnipeg Hawks.

Mr. Gurmeet Singh from Bombay Sports Company, who is the promoter of the league said, “We are extremely delighted to announce the second edition of the Global T20 Canada league. We had to postpone the dates of the tournament due to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 which will surely give us more time to prepare the event in a better way. We are in talks with all the teams and players and hoping for most of them to return in a most competitive way.”

The final dates of the tournament will be announced soon.

(PTI inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 08 Apr, 2019

    Share Via