BBL 2018-19: Michael Klinger dismissed on controversial "seventh ball" of an over

The right-hander found himself at the wrong end of an umpiring mistake.

Michael Klinger | Getty

Michael Klinger found himself at the wrong end of a genuine error when he got dismissed of the "seventh ball" of an over during Perth Scorchers' Big Bash League (BBL) clash against Sydney Sixers on Sunday, January 13. 

The right-hander got caught near the third man boundary off Steve O’Keefe's bowling by Ben Dwarshuis in the second over of Scorchers’ innings. 

The on-field umpires subsequently saught third umpire's help to check whether the catch was taken cleanly or not but the replays showed that the fielder had his fingers underneath the ball paving way for the giant screen to give Klinger "OUT."

But, on-field umpires Geoff Joshua, Simon Fry as well as TV umpire Nathan Johnstone failed to gauge that Dwarshuis was bowling his seventh legal delivery of the over. 

Klinger, who was unaware of the whole situation, normally walked back to the home dugout. Leaving coach Adam Voges to rue the scenario "not ideal" as he also told Channel Seven, "Obviously it’s the umpires’ jobs to count the number of balls in an over."

Though much to Voges' relief, Scorchers easily overcame the 178-run target with still seven wickets left and seven balls to spare. On his return to the BBL, Cameron Bancroft smashed an unbeaten 87 off 61 balls. 

(Inputs from CricketNext)


By Kashish Chadha - 14 Jan, 2019

    Share Via