BAN v WI 2018: Rovman Powell not happy with umpires following the controversial error in Sylhet

Powell was given out despite it being a no ball.

Powell got out for just 1 as West Indies succumbed to an eight wicket defeat | Getty

Having been at the receiving end of a genuine umpiring error during the third ODI against Bangladesh in Sylhet, West Indies skipper Rovman Powell has expressed disappointment with how unfair it all was.

Powell was given out for just 1 on a delivery that should've been called a no-ball due to the excessive number of Bangladeshi fielders manning the leg-side field. Despite that being immediately pointed out to Masudur Rahman and Ruchira Palliyaguruge by the 12th man, Carlos Braithwaite, the decision was not overturned by the officiating umpires.

West Indies were eventually restricted to a score of just 198/9 from their 50 overs, as they later went on to lose the match by eight wickets.

"It was a situation where Bangladesh had six persons on the leg side, and generally six persons on the leg side is considered a no-ball," Powell was quoted saying by ESPNcricinfo, "It is a bit disappointing to see about six or seven balls [were] bowled with six players on the leg side and the umpire didn't pick that up."

"It is a human mistake, so sometimes you have to just give and take. But you don't want to lose a wicket in that fashion. Maybe that's one of the major reasons why Carlos came on the field. To be honest, I didn't spot it."

"None of us, me nor [the other batsman at the time] Shai Hope, spotted it. We were concentrating on rebuilding, getting a partnership going and that just happened," he added.

According to clause 28.4 of the ICC men's playing conditions, "At the instant of delivery, there may not be more than 5 fielders on the leg side... In the event of infringement of this clause by any fielder, the striker's end umpire shall call and signal no-ball."

So, there remains a question mark as to why Brathwaite did not prevent Powell from leaving the field when they had spotted the error to the umpires, who themselves allowed the decision to be upheld.

Even Bangladesh captain Mashrafa Mortaza confirmed that there was a no-ball breach and he was surprised that the umpires didn't change their initial decision.

"We all know that a 6-3 field is a no-ball. But by being focused on getting them out we ended up having six fielders on the on-side, but since the umpire had made his call [on the Powell dismissal], he had to be given out," he said.

Bangladesh won the three-match ODI series, 2-1.


By Kashish Chadha - 15 Dec, 2018

    Share Via