ICC Women’s World T20: BCCI announces Indian squad; Harmanpreet Kaur to lead

Smriti Mandhana will be the vice captain of the team.

Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the team while Mandhana will be her deputyThe sixth edition of the ICC Women’s World T20 will be played in the Caribbean nation of Guyana and will see 10 teams competing for the ultimate prize. The defending champions of the World T20 are West Indies, who won the 2016 edition in India.

The Indian team has been two-time semifinalists in 2009 and 2010. However, since then, they have been eliminated in the first round itself.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the Indian team squad for the ICC Women’s World T20 and it will be captained by Harmanpreet Kaur and her deputy will be the explosive opener Smriti Mandhana. The veteran Indian batswoman Mithali Raj and the newest addition Jemimah Rodrigues too feature in the squad.

The sixth edition of the tournament will be held in the West Indies from 9 to 24 November. India is placed in Group B along with Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland. India will play the tournament opener India and New Zealand in Guyana.

India Women’s squad for ICC Women’s World T20:
Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Tanya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, D Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy


By Jatin Sharma - 28 Sep, 2018

    Share Via