PAK v AUS 2018: Mohammad Amir dropped from the Test series against Australia

Amir remained wicketless in the three matches he played in Asia Cup 2018.

Mohammad Amir | Getty

Mohammad Amir, who failed to take a single wicket in the Asia Cup 2018, has been snubbed from Pakistan’s 17-member squad for the forthcoming two-match Test series against Australia, scheduled to be held in UAE from October 7.

Ever since his return to international cricket after serving the spot-fixing ban in 2016, Amir hasn’t been able to set the world on fire. Although the left-armer has shown the glimpses of brilliance, he is not quite the same force that he used to be in his teenage days.

Following the Champions Trophy 2017 triumph, Amir’s form has seen a drastic slump. In 10 ODIs played this year, he has taken only three wickets.

Explaining the decision to drop Amir from the Australia series, chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said that the team was selected ‘keeping in mind the conditions of the UAE’.

"The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions of the UAE. Amir has been dropped on lack of form and Wahab Riaz and Mir Hamza comes in the side,” Inzamam quoted after the announcement of the squad.

Pakistan will rely heavily on its leg-spinner Yasir Shah, who has played an instrumental role in the 2-0 series win over Australia in UAE in 2014. Yasir had taken 12 wickets in two against the Aussies four years ago. Apart from Yasir, the squad has 19-year-old leg-spinner Shadab Khan and 33-year-old off-spinner Bilal Asif. While Shadab has the experience of four Tests thus far, Bilal is yet to make his debut in red-ball cricket.

"We have three spinners Yasir, Shadab and Asif who are in the squad keeping in view the UAE wickets," Inzamam said.

Left-arm paceman Wahab Riaz returns to the squad after playing the last of his 26 Tests in October last year. The squad also has a rising left-arm pacer Mir Hamza, who is yet to make his debut.

The first Test will be played in Dubai from October 7 to October 11, while Abu Dhabi will host the second Test from October 16 to October 20.

Pakistan Squad:

Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan.


By Salman Anjum - 28 Sep, 2018

    Share Via