Ehsan Mani replaces Najam Sethi as next PCB Chairman

Najam Sethi had been PCB chairman since 2014.

Ehsan Mani. (Reuters)

Former ICC President Ehsan Mani replaced Najam Sethi as the next PCB Chairman after he was nominated to the Board of Governors (BoG) by the country's Prime Minister, who is the Patron of the country's cricket board according to its constitution.

The PCB election commissioner Justice (R) Afzal Haider called for a special meeting to elect the next PCB Chairman. As Mani was the only BoG member - out of the total of 10 - to file his nomination, he was declared the PCB chairman after the scrutiny of his papers.

Imran Khan took to Twitter and nominated Mani to the BoG after Sethi resigned from his position.  According to the PCB constitution, the patron nominates two members to the BoG. The rest eight are equally divided between the top performing regions and service organisations of Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, country's premier first-class tournament. 

Mani was elected as the ICC President in 2003. Previously Mani worked as PCB's representative to ICC from 1989 till 1996. He was Pakistan's representative on the organizing committee of the 1996 World Cup and was on the advisory committee for the 1999 World Cup. 

(Inputs from Cricbuzz)


By Anshuman Roy - 04 Sep, 2018

    Share Via