Manoj Tiwary to lead Bengal team for the entire 2018-19 domestic season

Manoj Tiwary has served Bengal for over 13 years and played 12 ODIs and 3 T20Is for India.

Manoj Tiwary will captain Bengal for the 2018-19 domestic season | Indian Express

The new selection panel, headed by former Bengal captain Palash Nandy met for the first time on Friday to release the 31 members strong probable’s’ list and also named Bengal veteran Manoj Tiwary captain of the state side for the whole 2018-19 season.

Tiwary attended the meeting with coach Sairaj Bahutule and said, "Yes, I am disappointed at not being picked for any of the Duleep Trophy teams, but I have never asked to be relieved of the responsibility of captaincy. Leading Bengal is an honor and privilege, and I am always ready to take up the challenge.

This was the first instance of Bengal captain for the whole season named so early.

The likes of Prayas Roy Burman, Satyaki Dutta, and Shahbaz Ahmed have made it in the list; which also sees India regulars Wriddhiman Saha and Mohammad Shami.

Saturday will see the start of fitness drills and indoor sessions, as rains are expected to hamper outdoor practice sessions. The CAB has decided to send the team to the south for some match practice next month. Vision2020 consultants VVS Laxman, Muttiah Muralitharan and TA Sekar are expected to join the squad there.


Manoj Tiwary (captain), Wriddhiman Saha, Mohammad Shami, Ashok Dinda, Sudip Chatterjee, Abhishek Raman, Koushik Ghosh, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Vivek Singh, Purab Joshi, Anustuph Majumder, Writtick Chatterjee, Satyaki Dutta, Sumanta Gupta, B Amit, Shreevats Goswami, Sayan Sekhar Mondal, Ayan Bhattacharjee, Amir Gani, Pradipta Pramanik, Prayas Roy Burman, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ishan Porel, Alok Pratap Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Sayan Ghosh, Kanishk Seth, Amit Kuila, Veer Pratap Singh, Ritwick Roy Chowdhury, Pritam Chakraborty.

(With inputs from TOI)


By Jatin Sharma - 28 Jul, 2018

    Share Via