SL vs SA 2018: Angelo Mathews returns as captain for South Africa ODIs

Chandimal will miss the ODI series as well.

Angelo Mathews. (AP)

With Dinesh Chandimal suspended for the entire series against South Africa, Angelo Mathews is set to lead Sri Lanka in the upcoming five-match ODI series starting from July 29. 

Sri Lanka’s selectors named a 15-man squad on Tuesday (July 24) with Prabath Jayasuriya the only new face. Jayasuriya, 26, is a left-arm spinner who has 158 wickets from 47 first-class matches, and 36 wickets from 25 List A matches at an economy rate of 3.89.

Sri Lanka will be buoyed by the recent Test series win against the Proteas. They won the first Test by 278 runs at Galle followed by a 199 run victory in Colombo. 

The first ODI against South Africa will be played in Dambulla, which will also host the second game on August 1. The remaining games are in Pallekele (August 5 and 8), and the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo (August 12).

The five-match ODI series will be followed by a solitary T20I between the two sides on August  14 in Colombo. 

Sri Lanka ODI Squad 

Angelo Mathews(c), Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha, Akila Dananjaya, Prabath Jayasuriya, Lakshan Sandakan, Shehan Jayasuriya

(Inputs from Wisden India) 


By Anshuman Roy - 24 Jul, 2018

    Share Via