Bangladesh A squad for Ireland limited overs series announced

Bangladesh will play against Ireland A starting in a limited overs series from August 1.

Taskin Ahmed. (Getty)

Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced the A squad which will be playing a limited overs series against Ireland A starting from August 1. Mominul Haque, Soumya Sarkar and Taskin Ahmed are part of the team. Mominul will lead the team in the five One-day games while Sarkar will captain the team for the three T20 matches that follow the 50-over games.

"I think it will be great platform for all of them to make a statement for themselves as far as playing in the national team is concerned," Minhajul Abedin, the chief selector, told Cricbuzz. "Soumya is going through a lean patch but at the same time there is hardly any doubts as far as his talent is concerned, We just wanted to provide him a platform where he can express himself because that is all he need."

"I think Mominul has got to have some practice in the 50-over format because we are going to have a lot of matches and all the spots in the national team batting line-up are yet to be filled in the shorter format," Minhajul said.

Meanwhile, Taskin Ahmed who survived a back injury is focussing hard on his comeback. The pacer wasn't considered for the T20Is against Afghanistan and the tour of West Indies due to a disc-related problem for which he was undergoing rehabilitation. 

"He had a disc-related problem but has recovered sufficiently. We also wanted him to get back his rhythm as that is what he desperately needs," Minhajul said.

The One-day series will be played in Wicklow from August 1 to August 10, followed by the three T20 games in Dublin on August 13, 15 and 17.

Bangladesh A squad

Soumya Sarker (Captain for T20 series and Vice-Captain for one-day series), Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Mominul Haque (Captain for one-day series) , Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shariful Islam, Al Amin (Jr.), Zakir Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Sunzamul Islam, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shaif Uddin, Mizanur Rahman, Saif Hassan, Taskin Ahmed

(Inputs from Cricbuzz)


By Anshuman Roy - 23 Jul, 2018

    Share Via