Bangladesh Women create history by defeating India Women in Asia Cup

It was Bangladesh Women's maiden victory ever over India across all formats.

Bangladesh Women created a history by registering their first win over India (Pic. source: Asian Cricket Council)

India Women and Bangladesh Women squared off in the ninth match of the Women's Asia Cup T20 at Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday (June 6).

Opting to bat first, India rode on their skipper Harmanpreet Kaur’s 37-ball 42 and Deepti Sharma’s 28-ball 32 to post 141/7 in 20 overs. Rumana Ahmed was the stand-out bowler for Bangladesh as she claimed 3 for 21 in his 4 overs.

In reply, Bangladesh got off to a reasonable start with Shamima Sultana and Ayasha Rahman adding 29 runs for the opening wicket. Shamima played an entertaining knock of 33 runs in just 23 balls with 7 boundaries.

Although Bangladesh lost two quick wickets in the middle overs, the pair of Fargana Hoque and Rumana Ahmed didn’t get stuck and kept the scoreboard moving. Fargana and Rumana shared an unbeaten 93-run stand to saw their side home with seven wickets in hand and two balls to spare.

While Fargana remained unbeaten on 52 runs off 46 balls (5 fours and 1 six), Rumana played a precious knock of 42 runs in just 34 balls with 6 boundaries. For her all-round effort, Rumana was deservedly adjudged Man of the Match.

With this thrilling victory, the Bangladesh Women’s team also created a history as it was their maiden win ever over India across all formats.

Brief Scores:

India Women – 141/7 in 20 overs (Harmanpreet Kaur 42; Rumana Ahmed 3/21) lost to Bangladesh Women – 142/3 in 19.4 overs (Fargana Hoque 52; Poonam Yadav 1/21) by 7 wickets

By Salman Anjum - 06 Jun, 2018

    Share Via