Four new teams get added to the ODI rankings by the ICC

Netherlands won the ODI status by winning the ICC World Cricket League Championship.

Netherland and Nepal will earn ranking points after playing four more ODI matches

The International Cricket Council’s ODI team rankings was expanded to 16 teams as the governing body added Scotland, Netherlands, Nepal and the United Arab Emirates to the rankings. The new teams join the 12 Test playing nations on the ODI list, which is headed by 2019 World Cup host England.

Scotland starts in 13th spot with 28 points, UAE on 18, while Netherlands (13 rating points) and Nepal (zero points) do not yet have an official ODI ranking, but will qualify for a full ranking once they each play four more matches.

Netherlands got official ODI status by winning the ICC World Cricket League Championship last year, while the other three got ODI status as the 3 leading Associates in the 2018 ICC World Cup Qualifier.

Though, only 10 teams will be participating in the next year’s premier ICC ODI event- the World Cup. Hosts England and the top-seven ranked sides at the September 2017 cut-off date were granted automatic qualification into the quadrennial showpiece.

The ICC World Cup qualifiers saw the West Indies and Afghanistan qualify for the 2019 World Cup, completing the 10 teams for the event.

ICC ODI team rankings:

1. England (125 points)
2. India (122)
3. South Africa (113)
4. New Zealand (112)
5. Australia (104)
6. Pakistan (102)
7.Bangladesh (93)
8. Sri Lanka (77)
9. West Indies (69)
10. Afghanistan (63)
11. Zimbabwe (55)
12. Ireland (38)
13. Scotland (28)
14. UAE (18)
(Netherlands and Nepal will qualify for a full ranking once they play four more matches each)


By Jatin Sharma - 01 Jun, 2018

    Share Via