Asia Cup 2018 matches to be hosted by Abu Dhabi and Dubai

Pakistan will be hosting the next ACC Annual General Meeting.

Team India are the defending champions of the Asia Cup | Twitter

The 2018 edition of Asia Cup which was supposed to be hosted by India will now be hosted by Abu Dhabi and Dubai between September 13 and 28, 2018.

This decision was taken by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) on Tuesday after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) proposed that the tournament be played in the United Arab Emirates.  “The Asia Cup was to be hosted by India. The tournament will be hosted by India, but it will be played at UAE, in Abu Dhabi and Dubai. It was our proposal, and the entire Asian Cricket Council board accepted it,” BCCI acting secretary, Amitabh Chaudhary, who attended the meeting, told Sportstar.

It is understood that the political tensions between India and Pakistan led to the tournament being shifted to the Arab nation. “It will be a fifty-over-a-side tournament as usual,” Chaudhary said.

The Asia Cup will feature full members India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. The sixth team will be determined via a playoff that includes UAE, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman and Papua New Guinea.

The 2018 Emerging Teams’ Asia Cup will be co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The tournament which was slated to be played in April will now be played in December. Pakistan will be hosting the next ACC Annual General Meeting later this year.


By Jatin Sharma - 10 Apr, 2018

    Share Via