ICC announces the team of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers 2018

Afghanistan won the qualifiers final and along with West Indies have qualified for ICC World Cup 2019.

Afghanistan won the Qualifiers beating Windies in finals

Afghanistan and West Indies became the two teams to qualify for next year’s World Cup from the ICC 2019 World Cup qualifiers, held in Zimbabwe. Afghanistan won the finals, by defeating the West Indies by 7 wickets.

ICC announced also revealed the team of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers 2018.

West Indies captain Jason Holder was named the captain of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018. Holder scored 219 runs and took 15 wickets in eight matches and also took the West Indies to the 2019 World Cup.

The side was selected by a jury of cricket experts including former Windies fast bowler Ian Bishop, ex-Zimbabwe fast bowler Pommie Mbangwa, Australia’s former World Cup winner Lisa Sthalekar, along with Ian Callender (correspondent, Belfast Telegraph) and Liam Brickhill (correspondent, ICC Digital).

The jury also chose Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza as the Player of the Tournament.

The openers of the team are West Indies’ Evin Lewis and Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer, followed by Brendan Taylor of Zimbabwe and Marlon Samuels of Windies. Mohd Nabi, Sikandar Raza and Najibullah Zadran are the all-rounders of the team, along with Jason Holder as the captain.

Boyd Rankin, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman and Safyaan Sharif are the bowlers of the team, with Rashid Khan as the 12th man of the team.

Team of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 (in batting order):

Evin Lewis (Windies)
Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)
Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe- WK)
Marlon Samuels (Windies)
Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan)
Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)
Najibullah Zadran (Afghanistan)
Jason Holder (Windies -C)
Safyaan Sharif (Scotland)
Boyd Rankin (Ireland)
Mujeeb Rahman (Afghanistan)
Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) (12th)


By Jatin Sharma - 26 Mar, 2018

    Share Via