Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Karun Nair to lead Karnataka in the knockouts

R Vinay Kumar to miss the knockouts of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018.

R Vinay Kumar is nursing an elbow niggle | Getty Images

Karnataka’s top-order batsman Karun Nair will lead the side in the knockouts of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 after regular skipper R Vinay Kumar failed to recover from an elbow niggle.

Beside their leading pacer Vinay, Karnataka will also be without the services of their seasoned pacer Abhimanyu Mithun, while wicketkeeper CM Gautam, who had injured during the league phase, has been declared fit and will be available for selection.

Meanwhile, Nair also led the side in two of Karnataka's group matches against Odisha and Railways in the absence of Vinay as he has been advised rest, nursing an elbow injury.

The knockouts of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018, starting on February 21 –will be played between Hyderabad and Karnataka in New Delhi.

Selection committee chairman Raghuram Bhat said that the all-rounder Stuart Binny and left-arm medium pacer Sreenath Aravind, who were rested for the league matches, have been drafted into the side,  will play the quarterfinals against Hyderabad.

As per TNN, Mr. Bhat said of the absence of the two seniors Vinay and Mithun, “We have always believed in our bench strength and are happy they have delivered under pressure, especially in the last match when all the three senior pacers did not play.”

Karnataka Squad:

Karun Nair (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Samarth R, Stuart Binny, Gautam CM (wk), Pavan Deshpande, Gowtham K, Shreyas Gopal, Prasidh Krishna, Arvind S, Ronit More, Suchith J, Pradeep T, Devdutt Padikal, Sharath BR.


By Rashmi Nanda - 19 Feb, 2018

    Share Via