Steve Smith bags the Allan Border Medal 2018

Steve Smith also won the Test player of the year award at Allan Border Medal night.

Australia captain Steve Smith with fiancée Dani Willis at Allan Border Medal night | Getty

After kicking off the Allan Border Medal ceremony with Australia’s Test Player of the Year award, Steve Smith also secured the biggest award of the night. The Australian captain has been crowned with the Allan Border Medal for his dominant 12 months with the bat.

It was Smith’s second Allan Border Medal having secured his first one in 2015 – the year wherein he was adjudged ICC Cricketer of the Year as well. Smith clinched the award ahead of his deputy David Warner and the ace off-spinner Nathan Lyon.

As per the reports in, Smith aggregated a total of 246 votes during the polling window that spanned the period after the final Test of the 2016-17 summer to the culmination of recently held Ashes series.

Smith, who has scored 1754 runs at an average of 67.46 across all international formats in last one year, was also named ICC Test Cricketer of the Year last month. The 28-year-old Smith has been doing wonders in the longest format of cricket for quite some time now, but during the recently concluded Ashes series he took his game to a different level altogether.

In Ashes 2017-18 Down Under, Smith has amassed 687 runs in 7 innings at an incredible average of 137.40, including three centuries and two fifties. The Australian captain had also proved his mettle in the tough subcontinental conditions, scoring 499 runs at an average of 71.28 in last year's Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Allan Border Medal Final Voting (source:

Steve Smith – 246

David Warner – 162

Nathan Lyon – 156

Pat Cummins – 111

Josh Hazlewood – 72

Aaron Finch – 64

Mitchell Starc – 63

Travis Head – 55

Marcus Stoinis – 54

Shaun Marsh – 48

Nathan Coulter-Nile – 47

Peter Handscomb – 36

Steven O'Keefe – 36

Glenn Maxwell – 33

James Faulkner – 26

Mitchell Marsh – 24

Usman Khawaja – 24

Adam Zampa – 20

Moises Henriques – 20

Matthew Wade – 18

Jason Behrendorff – 14

Matthew Renshaw – 12

Michael Klinger – 10

Kane Richardson – 9

Ben Dunk – 8

Ashton Turner – 8

Tim Paine – 2

Andrew Tye - 2


By Salman Anjum - 12 Feb, 2018

    Share Via