BAN vs SL 2018: Dinesh Chandimal to lead Sri Lanka in T20Is

Angelo Mathews ruled out of the rest of the Bangladesh tour.

Jeevan Mendis set to make national return with Bangladesh T20I series | AFP

Sri Lankan wicket-keeper batsman – Dinesh Chandimal is all set to lead a 15-member squad in the two-match T20 International series against Bangladesh, confirmed Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Wednesday.

Angelo Mathews, who usually leads the side in the limited-overs cricket, has been ruled out from the rest of the Bangladesh tour due to a hamstring injury.

In the Lanka squad, there are two names which are quite surprising –Jeevan Mendis, who last represented the national side during the 2015 World Cup, makes a return, and Asitha Fernando.

The 20-year-old has made his international debut against Zimbabwe in 2017 and played only One Day. Now, Fernando could make his T20I debut against Bangladesh in the T20 series, which is slated to play on February 15 and 18 at Mirpur Stadium, and Sylhet International Cricket Stadium respectively.

Mathews's injury has been a concern for Sri Lankan team management for a long time now. He stepped down as captain after a dismal defeat against Zimbabwe at the turn of the year. Chandinal who replaced him as captain had a disappointing series against India which denied the management to continue with him as captain. Continuous loss has halted Sri Lanka's progress as a team and with Mathews's staying on the sidelines due to injury problems are mounting up for the islanders. considering the history of prolonged injuries that the 30-year old has had over the years, things don’t appear too bright for him.

Sri Lanka Squad: 

inesh Chandimal (captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Thisara Perera, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Shehan Madushanka, Jeffrey Vandersay, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Jeevan Mendis and Asitha Fernando


By Rashmi Nanda - 08 Feb, 2018

    Share Via