Chris Gayle shatters his own record, hits 18 sixes in Bangladesh Premier League final

Chris Gayle smashed an unbeaten 146 for Rangpur Riders in the BPL 2017 final.

Gayle smashed 18 sixes during his awe-inspiring 146 in BPL final | Twitter

West Indies’ hard-hitting batsman Chris Gayle blasted an unbeaten 146 off 69 balls as Rangpur Riders annihilated Dhaka Dynamites by 57 runs to lift the coveted Bangladesh Premier League 2017 title.

During the course of his knock, Gayle hit 18 sixes and with that he bettered his own record of most sixes in a T20 innings. Gayle had smashed 17 sixes during his record-shattering 66-ball 175 not out for Royal Challengers Bangalore versus Pune Warriors in the IPL 2013.

Furthermore, the 38-year-old Jamaican also became the first batsman to break the barrier of 11,000 run mark in T20 cricket. The closest player next on the list is Brendon McCullum, who boasts 8526 runs to his name.

Twitterverse went berserk as soon as the ‘Universe Boss’ surpassed his own record of hitting maximum sixes in T20s.

Put into bat first by the Dhaka skipper Shakib Al Hasan, Rangpur Riders finished with 206/1 off their 20 overs. Gayle shared an unbroken 201-run stand with former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum who finished 51 off 43 balls.

Chasing the mammoth total, Dynamites batmen could only manage 149/9 in their 20 overs as Sohag Gazi, Isuru Udana and Nazmul Islam picked two wickets apiece.


By Salman Anjum - 13 Dec, 2017

    Share Via