India to prepare in Dharamsala ahead of South Africa tour

India's tour of South Africa will commence from January 5.

Indian batsmen will hone their skills in Dharamsala prior to South Africa tour | Getty

Indian batting line-up fell like a pack of cards in the ODI series opener against Sri Lanka at Dharamsala on December 10 (Sunday). The ‘Men in Blue’ were bundled out for a mere 112 in just 38.2 overs after being put into bat by the new Sri Lankan captain Thisara Perera.

India’s top order found it difficult to get going on a wicket where there was something for the seamers. Half of the Indian batters were sent back packing at a score of 16 with none of them being able to reach the double-digit.

Given the failure of Indian batters in the testing conditions of Dharamsala, the team management have considered hosting a week-long training camp for the Test squad ahead of the all-important South Africa tour.

According to Sportstar, India’s head coach Ravi Shastri had a discussion with HPCA academy director Vikram Rathour concerning the preparatory camp.

“The talks are on. There could be a camp a week before India departs for South Africa,” an HPCA official was quoted by Sportstar as saying.

However, there hasn’t been any official statement from Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) regarding the matter.

“The players, who are not part of the ODI series, are expected to gather here next week. We are waiting for details,” the official added.

Meanwhile, India's two-day tour game ahead of their three-match Test series in South Africa has been cancelled, Cricket South Africa (CSA) said on Monday. The Indians have instead, as per CSA, opted for training sessions on those days.

"Please be advised that the two-day warm-up match for India at Eurolux Boland Park will no longer be taking place. India have opted for training sessions on those days," CSA press release stated.

India Test Squad for South Africa Tour:

Virat Kohli(c), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Parthiv Patel, Jasprit Bumrah


Jan 05 - Jan 09, 1st Test – Newlands, Cape Town

Jan 13 - Jan 17, 2nd Test – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Jan 24 - Jan 28, 3rd Test – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Feb 01, 1st ODI – Kingsmead, Durban

Feb 04, 2nd ODI – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Feb 07, 3rd ODI – Newlands, Cape Town

Feb 10, 4th ODI – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Feb 13, 5th ODI – St George's Park, Port Elizabeth

Feb 16, 6th ODI – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Feb 18, 1st T20I – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Feb 21, 2nd T20I – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Feb 24, 3rd T20I – Newlands, Cape Town


By Salman Anjum - 13 Dec, 2017

    Share Via