Team India gets their warm up game against South Africa cancelled

India's tour of South Africa will commence from January 5.

Team India are yet to lose a Test series under Virat Kohli | Getty

Prior to the all-important Test series against South Africa, Team India was scheduled to play a two-day warm-up match against South Africa. However, the practice match has been cancelled now, as confirmed by Cricket South Africa on Monday (December 11).

Cricket South Africa revealed that India will rather conduct their training sessions on those days. The first Test is slated to be played from January 5, 2018, in Newlands, Cape Town.

"Please be advised that the two-day warm-up match for India at Eurolux Boland Park will no longer be taking place. India have opted for training sessions on those days," CSA press release stated.

With the recent 1-0 Test series win against Sri Lanka, Team India registered their 9th consecutive Test series victory under Virat Kohli and thereby the Indian captain equalled Australia’s legendary skipper Ricky Ponting’s feat of most consecutive Test series win as a captain.

After enjoying a fabulous home season, Virat Kohli’s army will now head off to South Africa on December 27, where they will play a three-match Test series. India now have a chance to make 10 in a row, however, what sounds difficult is – no Indian side has ever won a Test series on the South African soil.

India Test Squad for South Africa Tour:

Virat Kohli(c), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Parthiv Patel, Jasprit Bumrah


Jan 05 - Jan 09, 1st Test – Newlands, Cape Town

Jan 13 - Jan 17, 2nd Test – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Jan 24 - Jan 28, 3rd Test – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Feb 01, 1st ODI – Kingsmead, Durban

Feb 04, 2nd ODI – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Feb 07, 3rd ODI – Newlands, Cape Town

Feb 10, 4th ODI – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Feb 13, 5th ODI – St George's Park, Port Elizabeth

Feb 16, 6th ODI – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Feb 18, 1st T20I – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Feb 21, 2nd T20I – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Feb 24, 3rd T20I – Newlands, Cape Town


By Salman Anjum - 11 Dec, 2017

    Share Via