Windies announce ODI, T20I squads for NZ series

Emrit received his maiden T20I call up.

Rayad Emrit has been included in the T20I squad.

West Indies have announced their ODI and T20I squads for the upcoming series against New Zealand in both the formats. One of the key inclusions is Rayad Emrit , who has earned his maiden T20I call up after spending a lot of time in the West Indian domestic circuit and involving himself in franchise T20 cricket.

Emrit, who has played just the two ODIs for Windies, has represented various T20 franchises, even leading the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the latest edition of the Caribbean Premier League. Emrit currently is participating in the Bangladesh Premier League where he represents the Chittagong Vikings. In 104 T20s, he has 118 wickets averaging just over 20 and a fairly economical rate of 7.17 per over, apart from 268 runs.

 Nikita Miller is recalled into the One-Day International squad for the three-match series of the tour. The last time that Miller donned the West Indies colors was back in 2015 against Zimbabwe at the ICC World Cup. Miller's recall could be attributed to his 13-wicket haul, including an eight-for, in the recently-concluded WICB Professional Cricket League Regional 4-Day Tournament in Kingston where he was named the Man of the Match.

See More: Chandimal snubbed from Sri Lankan ODI squad against India

Jason Holder will lead the one-day squad with the inclusions of Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel and Miller when compared to their last ODI assignment against England that they lost 4-0 with one washed out game. Devendra Bishoo, Miguel Cummins and Jerome Taylor were left out of the side.

The T20I squad will also see specialist Windies T20 cricketers like Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine make a comeback to the national team. All these cricketers now rarely play the 50 over format and have chosen playing franchise cricket after their indifference with the board earlier.

See More: Mathews's first Test ton in India

ODI squad: Jason Holder (Captain), Jason Mohammed (Vice Captain), Sunil Ambris, Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams

T20I squad: Carlos Brathwaite (c), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams


ODI series:

December 20: 1st ODI - Cobham Oval, Whangerei

December 23: 2nd ODI - Hagley Oval, Christchurch

December 26: 3rd ODI - Hagley Oval, Christchurch

T20I series:

December 29: 1st T20I - Saxton Oval, Nelson

January 1: 2nd T20I - Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

January 3: 3rd T20I - Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui


By Anshuman Roy - 05 Dec, 2017

    Share Via