IND vs SL 2017: Sri Lankan players stopped from coming to India for limited overs series

Several players were stopped at the Colombo airport.

The team was stopped at the Colombo airport. (Getty)

In a sudden series of events nine Sri  Lankan players who were travelling to India  to participate in the limited overs series against India scheduled to start after the Test series were stopped at the Colombo airport and were denied the journey.

According to reports in local Sri Lankan media, the country’s sports minister had not approved of the squad. Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara had apparently said that it was impossible for him to approve a team at such short notice and that there will be a meeting in the afternoon to sort the matter.

See More: Nathan Lyon will go  past 400 Test wickets

It is reported that Jayasekara was incensed by the fact that the players were allowed to leave without him having cleared the final team. As per reports, the players stopped from leaving were led by newly appointed captain Thisara Perera, Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep.

See More: Australian sledging in Ashes 

The rest of the team is playing in India in the three-match Test series. They are trailing the the series 1-0 and are playing the third Test in Delhi. Sri Lankan players have been facing problems in India’s national capital due to pollution. Play had been stopped for a significant part of Day 2 with Sri Lankan pacers unable to continue playing.


By Anshuman Roy - 05 Dec, 2017

    Share Via