IPL 2018: Match 54, SRH vs KKR: Must win match for Kolkata against Sunrisers

KKR will go to 16 points if they win the match tonight.

The onus will be on how the respective captains handle the pressure.(IANS)

Kolkata Knight Riders take on Sunrisers Hyderabad tonight in an away contest. Its a must-win match for them as Sunrisers Hyderabad has already got through to the playoffs. They put up a professional performance against Rajasthan in their last game and will be expecting to repeat the same when they play this must-win contest. 

Kolkata would look to Sunil Narine for another breezy start and Chris Lynn would at least want to do a repeat of what he did when the two teams last met, if not better his show. Captain Dinesh Karthik has been pretty good throughout and been grabbing not-out scores for fun in run chases. Kuldeep Yadav's return to form last game is a massive boost for a side that is going to bowl on a slowish pitch with bigger boundaries. 

Sunrisers, on the other hand, have lost their last two games coming into this contest. Though their playoffs berth if guaranteed, still they would like to win this game and go into the next round with positive attitude. 

Their batsmen were put into pressure by RCB in their last game as their bowlers had a rare off day on the field. However, things shaped up for SRH pretty well as their batsmen got a decent hit before the playoffs and this game against the Kolkata Knight Riders. 

On good thing about their game on Saturday is that they play a home game and are aware of the conditions better than their opposition. They will look to choke their opposition with spinners in operation. Back home they will be banking on their bowlers more than their batsmen to do the job for them tonight. 


Sunrisers Hyderabad have won the toss and have opted to bat

Playing XI 

Kolkata Knight Riders : Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Andre Russell, Shubman Gill, Javon Searles, Piyush Chawla, Prasidh Krishna, Kuldeep Yadav

Sunrisers Hyderabad  Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson(c), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami(w), Carlos Brathwaite, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma


By Anshuman Roy - 19 May, 2018

    Share Via