IPL 2018: Match 32, DD v RR – Delhi’s last ditch attempt to stay alive; while RR looking to make playoffs

Both the teams are coming off losses in their last matches.

Amit Mishra has been very economical in the middle overs for DD | IANS

The 32nd match of the IPL 2018 will see Delhi Daredevils host Rajasthan Royals at the Feroz Shah Kotla in a desperate attempt at clutching to the hopes of playoffs qualifications. Rajasthan Royals, on the other hand, will look to win the match and move to the 4th spot in points table.

Delhi will be coming off a loss to Chennai Super Kings, while Rajasthan is coming off a loss to SRH, in a match that they should have won.  Delhi Daredevils last beat Rajasthan in 2012 and has lost to them for seven straight times since then.

Delhi’s new look team without Gambhir as captain and opener is an attempt to rectify a mistake and this team is a bigger threat to oppositions. Rajasthan, on the other hand, is reeling from nonperformance from their overseas batsmen like Buttler, Stokes, and Short. Ajinkya Rahane’s slow batting coast RR the game against SRH, something that they cannot afford to do in a crunch match like this.

RR would hope that today is the day Ben Stokes comes good | IANS

The good news for DD is that Colin Munro is hitting some form and Amit Mishra is doing the same with the ball in middle overs for them. Munro giving them quick starts is compensating for failure of Maxwell to make big scores in the end. RR, however, are looking to make changes so that they can have a big hitting batsman at the top, to compensate for their slow starts in power play.

Whatever happens, the match is a crunch one for both teams, as a loss for DD will end their hopes of playoffs qualification; while a loss for RR will put them in a position to win all their remaining games to make the final four.


Rajasthan Royals have won the toss and have opted to field

Playing XIs: 

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane(c), D Arcy Short, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(w), Rahul Tripathi, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat

Delhi Daredevils  Prithvi Shaw, Colin Munro, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Liam Plunkett, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult


By Jatin Sharma - 02 May, 2018

    Share Via