IPL 2018: Delhi Daredevils announce Gautam Gambhir as their captain for IPL 11

Delhi Daredevils will be coached by Ricky Ponting in IPL 11.

Gautam Gambhir will lead DD in IPL 2018 | Getty Images

Delhi Daredevils went in for a overhaul of their franchise in the IPL 2018 auctions by retaining just three players. They retained Chris Morris, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant in the pre-auction player retention and spent wisely in the IPL 2018 auction.

Delhi went all out in the auction and bought the likes of Gautam Gambhir, Mohammed Shami, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Trent Boult, Kagiso Rabada, Glenn Maxwell and Prithvi Shaw.

Last time, Delhi Daredevils had announced Zaheer Khan as their captain and due to his fitness issues; Karun Nair captained the team in his place. But instead of naming players as captain, who cannot play the whole season; the franchise management has decided to name a player that has captained Delhi Daredevils before also and is a two time IPL winner.

Delhi Daredevils have announced that Gautam Gambhir will be leading the franchise in IPL 2018. They hope that the 2012 and 2014 IPL winning captain of Kolkata Knight Riders will also revamp the fortunes of Delhi team that has been lingering in the bottom half of IPL for past few seasons.

Gautam Gambhir reportedly requested KKR to not retain him in the auctions, as he wanted to come back to Delhi in IPL. Now with Delhi Daredevils naming him captain, it will his responsibility to ensure that DD finish at the top of the table.

By Jatin Sharma - 06 Mar, 2018

    Share Via