IPL 2018: Sourav Ganguly put forward his views on Kolkata Knight Riders’ next captain

Gambhir was not retained by the Kolkata Knight Riders during the IPL auction.

Gautam Gambhir has led KKR to two IPL titles | AFP

Two times IPL Champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) seems to be in a bit of dilemma concerning their leader for the next edition of Indian Premier League. During the IPL auction last month, KKR didn’t use Right to Match card to retain the services of veteran Gautam Gambhir, which raised a big question among fans and cricket pundits as to who will ably fill in the captaincy spot.

While the captaincy issue remains to be the hottest topic of discussion, former India skipper Sourav Ganguly has a word of advice for KKR's think tank ahead of the big announcement.

"Consider any great captain, Steve Waugh or Stephen Fleming, for example, you start at one particular stage in your career. And when they did start, it was based on a gut feeling of the team management. And then you see how far the team performs in the next six, seven matches of the season," Ganguly told Star Sports in a talk show with Jatin Sapru.

"But for KKR, one thing they have to do is that the amount of stability they had given to Gautam Gambhir, they have to do the same with the new captain so that he can be free in making his choices," he added.

Watch the full video below:

During his seven-year stint with KKR as a captain, Gambhir has led the team from the front and has played an instrumental role in winning them the 2012 and 2014 trophy. Before playing for Kolkata, the southpaw has represented Delhi Daredevils from 2008 to 2010 and now he will play in the next edition of IPL Gambhir will play for his home franchise as well.

Kolkata Knight Riders spent 59 crores to rope in just 17 players, the least by any team in the IPL auction. Prior to the mega-auction, KKR had retained the services for Andre Russell and Sunil Narine.

KKR squad for IPL 2018:

Andre Russell (WI), Sunil Narine (WI), Mitchell Starc (AUS), Chris Lynn (AUS), Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishank Jaggi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Nitish Rana, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Rinku Singh, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport (SA), Mitchell Johnson (AUS), Javon Searless (WI)


By Salman Anjum - 24 Feb, 2018

    Share Via