IPL 2018: MI owners open up on their squad

MI owners a total sum of 46.35 crores on their squad.

Krunal and Hardik both will play for MI in IPL 2018. (AFP)

Post the IPL 2018 auctions, MI owners, Nita Ambani and her son Akash Ambani revealed about being nervous the night before the IPL 2018 auction which were held over the last weekend. 

Mumbai retained skipper Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah and added Kieron Pollard and Krunal Pandya using the Right to Match (RTM) card at the auctions. 

In a video released by MI on Facebook, the Ambani=s and coach Mahela Jayawardene answered questions from fans after assembling a new squad after the two-day auction. During the course of the video interaction, the trio spoke about their auction strategy and the philosophy of the franchise. Akash revealed how nervous he was a night before the high-profile auction.

"You know how i was the night before that. I think we should be honest. We were very nervous. I was very nervous. I thought maybe one of them will slip because you never know the dynamics of an auction but i think we're incredibly happy," Akash said.

Akash also spoke about the moment when they secured Kieron Pollard using the RTM option. 

"As soon as we got Polly in the first set of the auction, I think that really lightened out mood for the whole auction. Because it would have been a tough auction if we didn't have Pollard in out bag. I think we would all agree," he added.

Nerves around getting back Pollard & Krunal

KP = Key Players KP = Kieron Pollard & Krunal Pandya Akash Ambani talks about his roller coaster ride of emotions before and during the Vivo #IPLAuction 2018. #MISquad2018 #CricketMeriJaan

Posted by Mumbai Indians on Monday, January 29, 2018


MI 2018 squad

Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard (WI), Aditya Tare, Mustafizur Rahman (BAN), Pat Cummins (AUS), Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Evin Lewis (WI), Saurabh Tiwary, Ben Cutting (AUS), Pradeep Sangwan, JP Duminy (SA), Jason Behrendorff (AUS), Tajinder Dhillon, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Mayank Markande, Akila Dananjaya (SL), Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Nidheesh MD Dineshan


By Anshuman Roy - 31 Jan, 2018

    Share Via