IPL 2018: Aaron Finch gets to a unique IPL record

Finch will play for KXIP in IPL 2018.

FInch has a handful IPL experience to his credit. (Getty)

Australia's Aaron Finch became the first player in IPL history to play for seven different franchises after Kings XI Punjab secured the 31-year-old's services after a frantic bidding war at the 2018 IPL auctions on Saturday.

Finch, till date, has played in Delhi Daredevils, Pune Warriors India, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Lions, Sunrisers Hyderabad and now Kings XI Punjab. 

Finch started his IPL journey with Rajasthan Royals in the 2010 edition of the IPL where he played only one match before moving to Delhi Daredevils for the next two seasons.

Nex he was bagged by bagged by Pune Warriors India in the 2013 edition where the Australian finally managed to make his mark. He scored 456 runs from 14 matches and also led the side in the later half of the campaign. 

Following Pune Warriors' withdrawal from the IPL after the 2013 edition, Finch was up for grabs yet again and it was Sunrisers Hyderabad who picked up the Australian at the IPL Player Auction for a whopping sum of 640,000 USD. Finch had a decent outing in 2014, scoring 309 runs from 13 matches.

Finch moved to Mumbai Indians for the 2015 season but his season was cut short by a hamstring injury suffered during his third match of the season against Rajasthan Royals.

Finch then played for Gujarat Lions in 2016 and 2017 Scoring 393 runs from 13 matches at an average of 39.30, including 5 half-centuries, Finch was instrumental in helping his side top the IPL standings at the end of the group stages.

Finch had a rough season in 2017 by his standards scoring 300 runs from 13 matches and with the Gujarat Lions.

With the likes of KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Yuvraj Singh and David Miller in their ranks, Finch joins an explosive line-up of batsmen and it will be interesting to see what kind of impact Finch makes at his latest IPL franchise.

Finch's IPL journey so far:

2010 - Rajasthan Royals

2011 - 2012 - Delhi Daredevils

2013 - Pune Warriors India

2014 - Sunrisers Hyderabad

2015 - Mumbai Indians

2016 - 2017 - Gujarat Lions

2018 - Kings XI Punjab


By Anshuman Roy - 27 Jan, 2018

    Share Via