IPL 2018: Indian Premier League 2018 to be played from 7th April

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals are back in the IPL after 2-year ban.

Mumbai Indians will defend their title in 2018 | Twitter

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 is scheduled to kick off from 7th April. The cash-rich league will be stretched to 50 days and the final will be played on 27th May, the IPL governing council said today.

Opening ceremony of the biggest T20 league will be held on 6th April in Mumbai. 

As per earlier discussion, the IPL governing council is also set to shift the match timings, which used to be 4pm and 8pm since the first season. 

“The Broadcasters requested for a change in timings and IPL governing council in principal has accepted it,” IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla said.

“Live broadcast of 8pm game will be shifted to 7pm, while 4pm will be played at 5:30pm,” he added.

Kings XI Punjab had requested the IPL governing council to shift their home venue as they couldn't make good revenue there. They will now play four of their home games in Mohali and three in Indore, while the home matches of Rajasthan Royals, who are returning to IPL after serving a two-year ban, will be decided after the Rajasthan High court’s hearing on January 24.

IPL Auction will be held at Bengaluru on January 27th and 28th. A list of 578 players including 360 Indian cricketers was released by IPL a couple of days back.


By Sihyeu Singh - 22 Jan, 2018

    Share Via