IPL 2024: Cricket fraternity rejoices as KKR becomes three-time IPL champions; dominate SRH by 8 wickets  

KKR are now the third team after CSK and MI to win the IPL title 3 or more times.

 Andre Russell picked 3 wickets, while Venkatesh Iyer made 52* in KKR's IPL 2024 win | IPL-BCCIKolkata Knight Riders (KKR) became only the third team in IPL to win the title three or more times, as they humbled the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the IPL 2024 final in Chennai on May 26, Sunday.

SRH captain Pat Cummins won the toss and opted to bat first, and both teams made no changes. However, the KKR bowlers had an early advantage, as Mitchell Starc dismissed Abhishek Sharma for two runs.

He also bowled dangerous Rahul Tripathi for nine runs, and Vaibhav Arora had before dismissed Travis Head for a duck. The SRH team failed to recover from these early blows, with only Aiden Markram (20) and Pat Cummins (24) scoring 20 runs.

SRH scored only 113 runs in 18.3 overs. Andre Russell got 3/19 for KKR, with Mitchell Starc and Harshit Rana each taking two wickets.

Pat Cummins took the early wicket of Sunil Narine for 6 runs, but Rahmanullah Gurbaz (39) and Venkatesh Iyer (52*) denied SRH a chance, as KKR triumphed by 8 wickets with 57 balls remaining.

This was a dominating win by KKR, who won their third IPL title which came 10 years after their second title win. KKR had been dominant in the league stage as well, finishing at the top of the points table and also winning the Qualifier 1.

The cricket fraternity was all jubilant about KKR players celebrating the IPL 2024 title win and lauded their victory on social media.

Here are the posts:



By Jatin Sharma - 26 May, 2024

    Share Via