IPL 2024: WATCH – Broadcast camera shows outcome of toss to viewers during PBKS-MI clash; Sam Curran too checks coin result

The allegations of toss tampering have been doing the rounds in the ongoing IPL season.

Camera zoomed into the coin following the toss in PBKS vs MI match | BCCI-IPLThe allegations of toss tampering have been doing the rounds in the ongoing IPL 2024 season. Match referee Javagal Srinath was accused of changing the outcome of the toss during the match between Mumbai Indians (MI) and Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) at the Wankhede Stadium on April 11.

Multiple users on X (formerly Twitter) shared a video, claiming that Srinath tampered with the coin by flipping the sides while picking it up. However, there was no substantial evidence to support such a claim.

Days after that conspiracy theory floated on social media, RCB skipper Faf du Plessis apparently hinted at the toss controversy while speaking to his SRH counterpart Pat Cummins.

Ahead of the RCB versus SRH clash at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on April 15, Du Plessis and Cummins came out for the toss, where the former was seemingly caught describing how referee flipped the coin in his team’s last match against MI.

While no official statement was made by the IPL or the franchises, it seems that concerned people have taken social media discussions seriously.

During MI's match against Punjab Kings in Chandigarh on Thursday (April 18), the camera panned into the coin after Sam Curran spun it and showed the result of the toss to the viewers.

Moreover, Curran himself walked forward and checked the result before the coin was picked up by the match referee.

Here’s the video:

Meanwhile, PBKS skipper Sam Curran won the toss and opted to field first against the five-time IPL champions.

"We will have a bowl. Keeping up with the trend of the tournament. Shikhar is not well, so that's the only injury and Rilee comes in for Jonny today. It is not nice to lose the close games but we are doing a lot of things right. (Atharva) Taide drops out of the side, just a couple of tactical changes," Curran said at the toss.

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Rilee Rossouw, Prabhsimran Singh, Sam Curran (captain), Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Liam Livingstone, Shashank Singh, Ashutosh Sharma, Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada and Arshdeep Singh

Substitutes: Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Bhatia, Shivam Singh, Rishi Dhawan and Vidwath Kaverappa

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya (captain), Tim David, Romario Shepherd, Mohammad Nabi, Gerald Coetzee, Shreyas Gopal and Jasprit Bumrah

Substitutes: Akash Madhwal, Nuwan Thushara, Kumar Kartikeya, Piyush Chawla and Naman Dhir



By Salman Anjum - 18 Apr, 2024

    Share Via