IPL 2021: Delhi Capitals trade Harshal Patel and Daniel Sams to Royal Challengers Bangalore

DC announced the trade news on their official Twitter account.

Harshal Patel and Daniel Sams | IPL/BCCIIndian Premier League (IPL) franchise Delhi Capitals (DC) on Friday (January 22) announced that they have traded Harshal Patel and Daniel Sams with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Both the all-rounders will don the red jersey in the 2021 edition of IPL, likely to begin in the first week of April.

Confirming the trade, DC took to Twitter and wrote: “TRADE ALERT. Harshal Patel and Daniel Sams have been traded from the Delhi Capitals. We would like to wish both the all-rounders good luck for their stint with @RCBTweets.”

RCB also welcomed the two cricketers in their squad.

“A BOLD welcome to Daniel Sams and @HarshalPatel23 as they join the RCB family for the 2021 IPL,” the Bangalore-based franchise tweeted.

With Harshal Patel and Daniel Sams’ exit, DC effectively retained 16 and released as many as 6 players from their last season’s squad on the final day of the deadline.

The players who have been retained by the franchise include Indian internationals Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, and Ravichandran Ashwin, along with Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey and Avesh Khan.

Delhi Capitals have also retained overseas players which include last season's Purple Cap winner Kagiso Rabada, along with his South African pace partner Anrich Nortje, Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis, West Indian batsman Shimron Hetmyer and English bowler Chris Woakes.

On the other hand, the franchise let go six players in Mohit Sharma, Tushar Deshpande, Keemo Paul, Sandeep Lamichhane, Alex Carey, and Jason Roy


By Salman Anjum - 22 Jan, 2021

    Share Via