IPL 2020: WATCH- On-field umpire mistakenly calls short-run robbing KXIP of a win

This short run call resulted in KXIP ending up on same total as DC and game went into super over.

This short run call robbed KXIP of a win | TwitterThe second match of the IPL 2020 saw Delhi Capitals (DC) winning against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in Dubai in an exciting super over after the match was tied. However, now it has been discovered that if it had not been for a mistake by the on-field umpire, KXIP would have actually won the match.

In the third ball of the penultimate over during Kings XI's chase, Mayank Agarwal completed two runs but the square leg umpire called it a run short against Chris Jordan.

However, when the replays were shown on TV, it was clear that Jordan had grounded his bat behind the crease properly while turning for the second run.

IPL 2020: Cricket fraternity lauds Marcus Stoinis as he stars in DC's super over win versus KXIP

This short-run call resulted in KXIP ending up on the same total as DC and the game went into super over. Kagiso Rabada picked two wickets keeping KXIP to 2 runs in 3 balls, which DC chased down with ease and pocketed the two points.

Marcus Stoinis, who earlier made a brilliant 53 in 21 balls and then defended 13 runs in the last over, taking the match into the super over. His half-century helped the Capitals recover from 96 for six in the 16th over to a competitive total of 157 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Here is the video of the umpire’s short-run mistake:



By Jatin Sharma - 20 Sep, 2020

    Share Via