IPL 2019: Corey Anderson, Brendon McCullum have goodbye messages for Virat Kohli and RCB

Anderson and McCullum were released by the franchise before IPL 2019 trading window ended.

Virat Kohli and Brendon McCullum | AFP

The Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Thursday (November 15) released Brendon McCullum, Corey Anderson and Sarfaraz Khan among 10 other players ahead of the IPL 2019 auction for the upcoming 12th season of the league.

The Bengaluru-based franchise, who have never won an IPL title in 11 editions, have retained the core of their team, including Captain Virat Kohli and South African legend AB de Villiers, but New Zealand duo of McCullum and Anderson and young sensation Sarfaraz, who was one of the three retained players by the franchise last year, were the big names to have been shown the door for the IPL 2019.

After being released by the RCB, McCullum and Anderson went on their respective official social media handles to thank RCB and Captain Kohli for the wonderful association and time they spent at the franchise, as well as, wished all the luck for the upcoming edition of the IPL2019.

McCullum wrote on Twitter, “Thanks to the skipper @imVkohli and all the team @RCBTweets for an enjoyable time in last seasons @IPL. All the best for the season ahead fellas.”

While the franchise expressed their gratitude towards McCullum with a heartwarming message, “Lent invaluable experience to the younger guys and we know how much everyone in the squad looked up to you! The Chinnaswamy faithful were fortunate to have got a glimpse of your explosive batting #PlayBold forever, Baz.”

On the other hand, Anderson tweeted, “Thanks to everyone @RCBTweets had a fantastic time during the last @IPL at such a great Franchise! Good luck to all for the upcoming season!”

To which the RCB replied with gratifying tweet, “Thank you for putting your hand up during testing times and pressure situations! Will always remember that spirit, Coza ????#PlayBold, forever”

Have a look here:

Check out here complete list of players released and retained by the RCB:

Retained Players: V Kohli (c), M Siraj, N Saini, K Khejroliya, P Patel, P Negi, U Yadav, W Sundar, Y Chahal, AB de Villiers, C de Grandhomme, M Ali, N Coulter-Nile, T Southee

Released Players: Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Sarfaraz Khan, Manan Vohra, Murugan Ashwin, Mandeep Singh, Corey Anderson, Aniket Choudhary, Anirudha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande.


By Rashmi Nanda - 17 Nov, 2018

    Share Via