Riyan Parag shatters record with six consecutive fifties in SMAT 2023

Riyan Parag scored a 33-ball-57 in a SMAT 2023 match against Kerala on October 27.

Riyan Parag | X

Riyan Parag gave a befitting response to his critics by making a remarkable entry into the history books as he became the first batter to score six consecutive fifties in T20 cricket.

Parag was heavily trolled for his poor performances for the Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the Indian Premier League (IPL), but now he has made headlines for all the good reasons. The Assam player has been in great form in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) 2023.

Read Also: CWC 2023: Nasser Hussain urges England to "spoil India’s party" in Lucknow after loss to Sri Lanka

Parag smashed a 33-ball-57* against Kerala in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) 2023 to become the first player to score six consecutive fifties in the history of T20 cricket.

With his sixth successive fifty, the young all-rounder went past the record of legendary cricketers like Virender Sehwag and David Warner for most consecutive half-centuries in T20 cricket.

Notably, Parag has amassed 440 runs in seven matches at an average of 62.86 so far in the SMAT 2023. The all-rounder also snared nine wickets in seven games for Assam in the ongoing tournament.

Read Also: CWC 2023: "Samajhdaar ko ishara kaafi hai"- MS Dhoni's on Team India's chances in ongoing World Cup

His fifty helped Assam beat Kerala by two wickets in the tournament at the Sharad Pawar Indoor Cricket Academy in Mumbai on Friday. It was Kerala’s first defeat in the T20 tournament.

Notably, Sehwag was the first player to register five consecutive fifties in T20 cricket. The former Indian opener achieved the milestone during the IPL 2012.

Here are the batters with most successive fifties in T20s:

Riyan Parag – 6

Virender Sehwag – 5

David Warner – 5

Devon Conway – 5

Hamilton Masakadza – 5

Kamran Akmal – 5

Jos Buttler – 5


By Rashmi Nanda - 27 Oct, 2023

    Share Via