Narayan Jagadeesan scripts history with fourth successive century Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022; equals Virat Kohli’s record

Narayan Jagadeesan joined the elite list after smashing four successive centuries in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022.

Narayan Jagadeesan | BCCI Domestic

Tamil Nadu wicketkeeper-batter Narayan Jagadeesan is in great form with the bat in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022, and on Saturday (November 19), he achieved a rare landmark in List-A cricket.

Jagadeesan has scripted history by becoming just the fifth batter after Virat Kohli, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Prithvi Shaw, and Devdutt Padikkal to smash four centuries in a single edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Kohli previously accomplished the feat in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2008-09, when he scored 102, 119*, 124, and 114 to finish as the highest run-getter (534 runs) from 7 matches at an average of 89.

He achieved the feat against Haryana in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy in 2022. Jagadeesan hit the three-figure mark after only 99 balls.The batter ended up scoring 128 runs off 123 balls laced with six fours and six sixes to help Tamil Nadu beat Haryana by 151 runs on Saturday.

Read Also: WATCH- ‘At least your debut was better than mine'- Shubman Gill recalls MS Dhoni consoling him after poor ODI debut

The Tamil Nadu keeper also joined Sri Lanka’s batting legend Kumar Sangakkara, South Africa’s Alviro Peterson and India's Devdutt Padikkal to score four consecutive centuries in List A cricket following his knock against Haryana at the KSCA Cricket (2) Ground in Alur on Saturday.

Well, Jagadeesan is also currently the leading run-scorer in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 with 522 runs from 5 matches at an average of 130.50 and a strike rate of 105.66 with a top score of 168 in the tournament. 

Jagadeesan has so far played 41 List A matches and scored 1782 runs at an average of 44.55 with seven centuries and six half-centuries.


By Rashmi Nanda - 19 Nov, 2022

    Share Via