Rashid Khan, Kagiso Rabada among 5 players signed by MI Cape Town for upcoming CSA T20 League

The CSA T20 League, featuring six teams, is slated to take place in January 2023.

Rashid Khan and Kagiso Rabada are set to become a part of MI family | GettyMI Cape Town on Thursday (August 11) announced the signing of five players for the inaugural edition of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) T20 League.

Reliance Industries, the owner of the Cape Town-based franchise, roped in three foreign players, one South Africa capped and one South Africa uncapped player as part of the squad.

The three overseas cricketers include star Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan and England’s Liam Livingstone and Sam Curran, while Kagiso Rabada and Dewald Brevis are the capped and uncapped Proteas players respectively.

Notably, Brevis was already part of the MI family, having been signed by the five-time IPL champions earlier this year.

Akash Ambani, Chairman of Reliance Jio, welcomed the players to the #OneFamily.

“I'm excited as we begin our journey in building “MI Cape Town”. With our direct player signings, we have taken the first step towards building the MI philosophy having a strong core around which the team will be planned. I am glad to welcome Rashid, Kagiso, Liam, Sam, to the #OneFamily and happy to have Dewald continue with us on this new journey. We are certain that MI Cape Town, like the two other teams, will play the brand of cricket MI is synonymous with-playing fearless cricket, and the same will resonate with the passionate cricket fans of South Africa and across the world," Akash Ambani said in a media release.

“The players have been signed ahead of the auctions as per the rules that govern the T20 league,” the official release stated.


A post shared by MI Cape Town (@micapetown)

The CSA T20 League, featuring six teams, is slated to take place in January 2023. All the teams taking part in the competition are owned by the IPL franchise owners.


By Salman Anjum - 11 Aug, 2022

    Share Via