'The entire team will receive a grand welcome in Bhopal': Madhya Pradesh CM on state team’s Ranji Trophy 2022 win

Madhya Pradesh CM posted a video on Twitter to congratulate the players.

The Madhya Pradesh team wins their maiden Ranji title | BCCI Domestic/Twitter

The chief minister of Madhya Pradesh, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, congratulated the state cricket team on Sunday (June 26) for winning the maiden Ranji Trophy. At Bengaluru's M Chinnaswamy Stadium, MP under the captaincy of Aditya Shrivastava thrashed the 41-time champions Mumbai by 6 wickets to clinch the trophy.

Himanshu Mantri led the way with 37 runs while Shubham Sharma looked good in his 30-run inning as they chased a manageable 108-run mark. Rajat Patidar played a decisive knock of 30 not out to take MP home.

SEE ALSO:  Virender Sehwag and Ashish Nehra react to changes in Team India, Umran Malik’s debut

Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the chief minister of MP, was delighted with the state cricket team's historic victory. He took to Twitter to post a video to congratulate the team and offered the players a grand welcome in Bhopal, the state's capital.

“Today, the entire state of Madhya Pradesh is happy and touched as the state’s cricket team has scripted history. After defeating 41-time champion Mumbai, MP have won the Ranji Trophy title. I congratulate head coach Chandrakant Pandit, captain Aditya Shrivastava and the entire team because it is the victory of the entire unit,” said the MP chief minister while speaking to news agency ANI.

“Not only just best wishes but the entire team will receive a grand welcome in the capital city of Bhopal and their achievements will be acknowledged,” he added.

On the 5th day of the final, MP's victorious moment was captured in a video, which the CM shared.

Mumbai's second innings total of 269 on the last day left MP with a meager target of 108, which they achieved admirably as Chandrakant Pandit won a record sixth national title as a coach.

Young Suved Parkar (51) and Sarfaraz Khan (45), who completed the season 18 runs shy of the 1000-run mark, gave it their best shot. Still, MP's Kumar Kartikeya (4/98), who emerged as the standout bowler for the state, and the other bowlers bowled splendidly.

While chasing, there were a few bumps, but with just over 100 to get, the MP squad found it to be a simple task.



By Abhishek Ghan - 27 Jun, 2022

    Share Via