SLC announces that the Lanka Premier League will begin from November 2020

The league will see 23 matches between five teams.

Lanka Premier League will be launched later this year | AFP

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Wednesday (September 2) announced the launch of the much-awaited Lanka Premier League (LPL), a franchise-based T20 league organized by the SLC. It will be officially launched this November after a three-month delay in the start due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The inaugural edition of the LPL was originally scheduled to start on August 28 but was postponed after health authorities insisted on lengthy quarantine for foreign players in a wake of Coronavirus outbreak.

Read Also: PCB announces schedule of remaining four PSL 2020 matches

Well, now the LPL is scheduled to take place from 14th November to 6th December while the SLC signed up with the Innovative Production Group to manage and conduct the tournament in the Island nation.

The board stated that the IPG was offered rights for licensing of franchises, broadcasting, production, and ground rights of Sri Lanka’s Premier League.

Five teams named after the Sri Lankan cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla, and Jaffna, will compete in 23 matches in the tournament across three international venues of Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, and Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapakse International Cricket Stadium.

The SLC said in a statement: “A local league is welcomed by both players and fans alike as it provides a platform for the players to horn their skills playing alongside top-notch cricketers in the world while providing an opportunity for the local fans to witness some quality cricket on display.”

Noteworthy, Sri Lanka has officially reported over 3,000 COVID-19 cases with 12 deaths so far.

(With SLC Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 03 Sep, 2020

    Share Via