Dinesh Karthik to captain a strong Tamil Nadu squad in the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy

The squad is comprised of Vijay Shankar, Murali Vijay, Abhinav Mukund among others.

Vijay Shankar has been named Dinesh Karthik's deputy | Getty

Veteran batsman Dinesh Karthik will captain a strong Tamil Nadu team, comprising all-rounders Vijay Shankar and MS Washington Sundar, in the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Vijay Shankar, who got ruled out midway through the World Cup due to toe injury, has been named Karthik’s deputy.

Apart from TNPL star C Hari Nishaanth, the squad also includes out-of-favour India players Murali Vijay and Abhinav Mukund.

The spin department has M Ashwin, who played for Kings XI Punjab in the IPL last year, and left-arm bowler R Sai Kishore besides Sundar.

“Batsman M Shahrukh Khan will be in the team as replacement for M Vijay till such time Vijay joins the team,” a TNCA press release said.

Read More: Dinesh Karthik extends "unconditional apology" for violating BCCI clause with CPL attendance

Vijay is currently playing for Somerset in the English County Championship.

Tamil Nadu’s probables are currently at a preparatory camp in Tirupur. Skipper Karthik is likely to join the camp on Sunday (September 15).

Tamil Nadu is placed in the Group C of the tournament along with Bengal, Bihar, Gujarat, Jammu & Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Railways, Rajasthan, Services and Tripura.

The 50-over competition begins on September 24 and runs until October 10.

Tamil Nadu’s Squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019:

Dinesh Karthik (captain), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), Abhinav Mukund, M Vijay, B Aparajith, M Ashwin, MS Washington Sundar, R Sai Kishore, N Jagadeesan, T Natarajan, K Vignesh, M Mohammed, M Siddharth, Abhishek Tanwar, C Hari Nishaanth, J Kousik.

(With PTI inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 15 Sep, 2019

    Share Via