Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19: Deepak Hooda to lead Baroda in the One-Day tournament

Baroda will kick off their Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19 campaign against Mumbai.

Krunal Pandya also included in the Baroda squad | India Express File Photo

All-rounder Deepak Hood is all set to lead Baroda in the upcoming Vijay Hazare One-Day tournament starting from September 19 (Wednesday).

The Baroda Cricket Association (BCA) has recently announced a 15-man squad for the upcoming One-Day tournament, boasted with the inclusion of experienced  Yusuf Pathan and in-form all-rounder Krunal Pandya, who recently broke into the T20I squad riding on his consistency, will be the trump card for Baroda in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Moreover, the experience of Pinal Shah and Bhargav Bhatt need to come to the fore for Baroda in the tournament, while they have a perfect blend of youngsters and experienced cricketers which will be a key for Baroda in the One Day tournament. 

In the last edition, Baroda won five out of their six encounters in Group A and qualified for the quarterfinal, but unfortunately, they bowed out of the tournament after getting thrashed by Maharashtra by three-wickets at Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi.

Baroda is placed in Elite Group A along with Goa, Railways, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Mumbai, and Vidarbha for the upcoming 2018-19 season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Meanwhile, Baroda will kick off their Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19 campaign against Mumbai at Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium (KSCA) in Alur.

Here is the squad for the tournament:

Deepak Hooda (C), Atit Sheth, Kedar Devdhar, Aditya Waghmore, Vishnu Solanki, Yusuf Pathan, Swapnil Singh, Krunal Pandya, Pinal Shah (wk), Mitesh Patel (wk), Bhargav Bhatt, Rishi Arothe, Lukman Meriwala, Baba Safi Khan Pathan, Ninad Rathva



By Rashmi Nanda - 17 Sep, 2018

    Share Via