Saurashtra name Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara in Vijay Hazare Trophy squad

Saurashtra will play their first match against Uttar Pradesh on Sept 19.

Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara were named in the Saurashtra squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA), on Sunday, has announced their squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy. The squad includes their internationals Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara.

The Vijay Hazare Trophy will be played in New Delhi where last year's runners-up Saurashtra will play their first match against Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA) on 19 September.

However, if Pujara and Jadeja get selected in the Indian team for the West Indies Tests, they might miss the fifth match and the remaining matches of the series.

SCA media manager Himanshu Shah told PTI, "Pujara and Jadeja have been included in the squad. The duo will play first half of the tournament as Windies will start their India tour by playing the first Test at the SCA stadium at Khandheri here on 4 October."

"The first Test match between India and the West Indies will start from 4 October at the SCA stadium. The two players are likely to miss second half of the Vijay Hazare Trophy," Shah said.

Pujara is coming off a century in the England series and Jadeja too scored a fifty and took four wickets in an innings in the last Test.

The SCA team management has not yet declared the captain for the squad so far. However, Pujara is likely to lead the side in the prestigious domestic tournament, while Jaydev Shah may be the captain of Saurashtra in his absence.

Saurashtra team:
Jaydev Shah, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Robin Uthappa, Sheldon Jackson, Jaydev Unadkat, Samarth Vyas, Arpit Vasavada, Avi Barot, Prerak Mankad, Chirag Jani, Dharmendra Jadeja, Kamlesh Makwana, Yuvraj Chudasama, Saurya Sanandiya, Agnivesh Ayach and Hardik Rathod

(with PTI inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 16 Sep, 2018

    Share Via